Call Us 080-41656200 (Mon-Sat: 10AM-8PM)

The Solo Guitar Works of Sir Richard Rodney Bennett


Marketed By :  LAP LAMBERT Academic Publishing   Sold By :  Kamal Books International  
Delivery in :  10-12 Business Days


Check Your Delivery Options

Rs. 3,651

Availability: In stock

  • Product Description

Sir Richard Rodney Bennett (b. 1936) is one of Britain’s most versatile and celebrated composers of the twentieth-century. It is guitarists’ great fortune that he has written two works for the solo guitar. He composed Impromptus in 1968 to prepare him for writing a guitar concerto for the English guitarist, Julian Bream, and he later composed the Sonata in 1983 as a personal exercise to see how far he could expand upon what he had already set forth in the Impromptus. This book presents a study of the two solo guitar works of Sir Richard Rodney Bennett. This study offers a brief survey of previous writings on the two works, the reception of each work, an exploration of his musical language and style, and a discussion of the influences on his style. It also offers an in depth theoretical analysis of Bennett's use of twelve-tone serialism in the Impromptus, and how he departs from strict serialism in the Sonata. In addition to exploring pre-compositional techniques, this study presents analysis of form for each movement and the phrase structures in both pieces. It also brings to light some errata discovered in the Impromptus.

Product Specifications
SKU :COC95495
AuthorZachary Johnson
Number of Pages92
Publishing Year2011-12-05T00:00:00.000
Edition1 st
Book TypeTheory of music & musicology
Country of ManufactureIndia
Product BrandLAP LAMBERT Academic Publishing
Product Packaging InfoBox
In The Box1 Piece
Product First Available On ClickOnCare.com2015-08-14 00:00:00
0 Review(s)